Aquafaba Vegan Mayo Success

aquafaba-mayoThis recipe for homemade vegan mayo is the bomb. The taste and consistency are crazy-close to the real deal. I usually buy Veganaise or Just Mayo; both brands taste good, but aren’t cheap.

I wanted a recipe that included aquafaba (liquid from canned chickpeas). After some online research, I selected a recipe from a blog called Peanut Butter and Vegan  (linked here).  Visit their site- for this and other great-looking recipes!

This mayo turned out perfectly on the first try with a minor adjustment based on my pantry stock.  Here is how I adapted the recipe specifically to my on-hand ingredients:

  • 1 tbs cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 tbs aquafaba (liquid from can of chickpeas)
  • 3/4 c peanut oil

Combine the vinegar, Dijon, salt and aquafaba with a quick mix from the immersion blender. Slowly add the oil until your mixture had the consistency of mayo. It happens quick. That’s it!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m not a big mayo person, but this looks delicious. Easy to make in amounts that will be used quickly. That’s my problem with mayo. I buy the big jar, use a small amount and the rest goes to waste. 🙂

    1. veganrose says:

      I was reluctant to try the aquafaba but this is miraculously good and gluten free. I’m experimenting with the aquafaba meringue recipe, too.

Leave a Reply

