Celeriac, the Quasimodo of the vegetable kingdom…

Celeriac, or celery root, is a gnarly looking thing.  Uncertain what to do with this lump of vegetable, I found a terrific Creamy Celeriac Soup recipe in Farmer John’s Cookbook: The Real Dirt on Vegetables.  Once peeled, celeriac is sort of potato-ish.  It can be used raw in a salad, but it is coarse in texture, so I like it best cooked –  as it is in this recipe.

I’ll be searching for other great recipes to use this root.  Nutrition-wise, using a variety of vegetables gives the body an excellent balance of minerals and vitamins.   I’ve added a link to the recipe which is available from an online excerpt, but I recommend adding this cookbook to your shelf.
The soup recipe I’m featuring here is basically chopped onion, celeriac, nuts and potato simmered in vegetable broth until tender.  I always have raw cashews on hand, and I used them here in place of the almonds. It is then pureed.  I veganized the recipe by substituting Earth Balance instead of butter, and soy creamer instead of dairy.    The nuts add protein and creaminess to the soup.  Once blended in, you would not know they are there.  For those with nut allergies, I think omitting the nuts would still leave you with a great tasting soup.  A little nutmeg rounds out the beautiful flavors.  Oh, and as its name implies celeriac… has a mild celery flavor.

Leave a Reply

