New Year Looming

I’m in an interesting mood tonight, the kind  that comes from spending the day alone and in contemplation.  It was a cold, raining, nasty kind of day that lends itself to hunkering down.  Sundays are my kitchen days, so the weather didn’t hobble me; I planned to cook for the coming week anyway.  By noon I’d made a black-eyed pea and collard green casserole, spice roasted butternut squash with smoked paprika, Moroccan couscous stuffed acorn squash, and roasted squash seeds and pecans.  I’m good for the week.

Today, I decorated the house for Christmas.  I’m alone this year, which is okay, really.  Nelson is in Madison and I’ll spend the holiday at with my family here in New York.  And right now, I’m in my living room with my multiple mini holiday trees.  The candles are lit, Dvorak is on the radio, and a martini is at hand.  So, yes, life is good.

I’m thinking about the coming year. What do I want for myself in 2011?  I want more vegan days.  I want to work my novel into publish-readiness.  I want more days laughing over silly nonsense with my friends.  I want to be kinder.  I want to do good work.  I want to stay happy.

Leave a Reply

