The year of the novel…

In non-food related news… November is National Novel Writing Month. At midnight tonight, the writing commences and we’re off.  The goal is to tap out a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.  I’ve spent most of October outlining a plot and bouncing ideas back and forth with my NaNo writing buddy Kate.  In addition to being my BFF since the green plaid days, Kate is also an amazing writer.

As for me, I have several unpublished short stories and a bunch of novel-starts that never progressed.  This challenge is a means to develop good daily writing habits and to step forward as a serious author.  So, for November I am limiting my Dark Shadows addiction to one episode daily; spending less time at Collinwood and more in my own fictional nightmare.

Because it is hard for me to do anything without considering what I am going to eat next, I’m spending  today in the kitchen cooking and freezing vegan meals for the coming month.  Yesterday, I went crazy at the Troy Farmers’ Market; I could barely haul all that produce back to the car.  Cabbages and squash are uber heavy, especially when you park on the second floor of the garage!   Plans for my halloween cooking marathon include: Pizza with Garlicky Chard (using Daiya cheese); Tuscan White Bean Soup with Kale; Beets with Carmelized Onions and Rosemary over Pasta; Haluski with Red Cabbage; Velvety Potato Leek Soup; and who knows what else.

So I’ll see you at my books signing, right?

Leave a Reply

