Guacamole with OJ

Enjoying a prickly pear margarita while my guacamole is prepared… San Antonio, Boudro’s circa 2006

Looking to make something easy for lunch, I decided on guacamole.  I used one of the two gorgeous, organic avocados I bought at Hannaford last week.  I have a bad habit of letting food go bad, so I am on a crusade to overcome waste.  The best guacamole I’ve had was at Boudro’s on the riverwalk in San Antonio, who by the way, make an awesome prickly pear margarita.  (Click on the hyperlink to find their recipe as posted on Food.com.  My recipe is a more simplistic, but turned out delicious.

  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 1/2 small red onion, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt (or to taste)
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • 1 clove garlic pressed or minced
  • 1 oz orange juice
  • 1 small jalapeno minced
  • handful of chopped fresh cilantro

Mash all the ingredients.  Recommend Price Chopper brand organic veggie tortilla chips, that are pretty to serve with the right amount of saltiness.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lisa Martine says:

    that sounds so simple yet so delicious ! thank you !

Leave a Reply

